Welcome to Medlife


Anatomical layers of the scalp

The term scalp is applied to the soft tissues covering the vault
of skull.
The scalp consists of five layers. From superficial to deep these are as follows:

  1. Skin.
  2. Connective tissue (superficial fascia).
  3. Aponeurosis (occipitofrontalis muscle and its
  4. Loose areolar tissue.
  5. Pericranium.

The sequence of the layers of scalp can be easily remembered by a perfect mnemonic SCALP derived by using initial
letter of each layer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.